> Loyola Marymount University > About LMU > Inside LMU > Office of the Registrar > University Bulletin > Academic Awards and Commencement Honors > University Honor Societies


Tool Box


Print  print

RSS Feed  RSS feed

Email  email  

Bookmark and Share  share

University Honor Societies

Loyola Marymount University sponsors numerous honor societies to recognize significant academic achievement of its students.

Alpha Kappa Delta Sociology Society

Established at LMU in 1997, Alpha Kappa Delta is an academic organization dedicated to the study of sociology, the research of social problems, and other social and intellectual activities. It promotes the development of scholastic and leadership skills within the framework of a national honor society and the Department of Sociology. It was founded in 1920 at the University of Southern California.

Alpha Sigma Nu Jesuit Honor Society

Alpha Sigma Nu is a national honor society for men and women founded in 1915 at Marquette University. The society was organized to honor students from Jesuit colleges and universities who have distinguished themselves in scholarship, loyalty, and service to the University. A limited number of juniors and seniors are selected for membership each year. The society offers its services to the University, particularly in an effort to stimulate intellectual interest and accomplishment. It was established at LMU in 1939.

Beta Beta Beta Biology Society

Since its inception at Oklahoma City University in 1922, Beta Beta Beta has been a society for students dedicated to improving the understanding and appreciation of biological study and extending boundaries of human knowledge through scientific research. The society has been at LMU since 1999.

Beta Gamma Sigma Business Society

The establishment of the first national honor society for business students was the result of the 1913 merger of three separate societies from the University of Wisconsin, University of Illinois, and University of California. Beta Gamma Sigma is an international honor society recognizing the outstanding academic achievements of students enrolled in collegiate business and management programs. LMU’s chapter started in 1982.

Gamma Kappa Alpha National Italian Honor Society

Gamma Kappa Alpha acknowledges superior scholastic performance in the field of Italian language, literature, and culture, and is open to membership at institutions of higher learning in the United States and Canada. The Society encourages college students to acquire a greater interest in, and a deeper understanding of, Italian culture, art, and history. It was founded at Nazareth College in Rochester, NY, in 1983 and established at LMU in 1998.

Kappa Delta Pi International Honor Society in Education

The Kappa Delta Pi International Honor Society in Education was founded in 1911 at the University of Illinois and established at LMU in 1996. It is dedicated to recognizing scholarship and excellence in education, promoting development and dissemination of worthy educational ideas and practices, and enhancing the continuous growth and leadership of its diverse membership.

Lambda Pi Eta Communication Studies Society

Founded at the University of Arkansas in 1985, this society later became the official honor society of the National Communication Association. Taking its name from the three elements of persuasion as described in Aristotle’s Rhetoric, it functions to foster development among students and professionals in the field.

Phi Alpha Theta History Society

Established at the University of Arkansas in 1921, Phi Alpha Theta is a professional society whose mission is to promote the study of history through the encouragement of research, teaching, publication, and the exchange of learning and ideas among historians. The LMU chapter started in 1968.

Phi Sigma Tau Philosophy Society

The purpose of Phi Sigma Tau is to serve as a means of awarding distinction to students having high scholarship and personal interest in philosophy and to promote student interest in research and advanced study in this field. It was founded at Muhlenberg College in 1930, incorporated in 1955, and became active at LMU in 1987.

Pi Delta Phi French Honor Society

This society was established in 1906 at the University of California at Berkeley, with the goals of recognizing outstanding scholarship in French language and literature and increasing knowledge of the contribution of Frenchspeaking countries to world culture. LMU’s chapter began in 1969.

Pi Mu Epsilon Mathematics Society

Pi Mu Epsilon is an honorary national mathematics society founded at Syracuse University in 1914, with the purpose of promoting scholarly activity in mathematics among the students in academic institutions. The society was established at LMU in 1975.

Pi Sigma Alpha National Political Science Honor Society

Pi Sigma Alpha was founded in 1920 at the University of Texas at Austin. Its goal is to stimulate scholarship and intelligent interest in the field of political science. LMU’s chapter was established in 1998.

Psi Chi Psychology Society
Psi Chi Psychology Society was established in 1929 at Yale for the purposes of encouraging, stimulating, and maintaining excellence in scholarship and advancing the science of psychology. LMU started a chapter of the society in 1979.

Sigma Delta Pi Spanish Society

Sigma Delta Pi, the National Collegiate Hispanic Honor Society, was established in 1919 at the University of California at Berkeley. Its goals include honoring those who attain excellence in the study of the Spanish language and encouraging university students to acquire a greater interest in and a deeper understanding of Hispanic culture. LMU’s chapter became active in 1972.

Sigma Pi Sigma National Physics Honor Society

Founded at Davidson College, North Carolina, in 1921, Sigma Pi Sigma exists to honor outstanding scholarship in physics, to encourage interest in physics among students at all levels, to promote an attitude of service of its members towards their fellow students and colleagues and to the public, and to provide a fellowship of persons who have excelled in physics. The society was established at LMU in 1979.

Sigma Tau Delta English Society

Founded at Dakota Wesleyan College in 1924 and established at LMU in 1994, Sigma Tau Delta members are expected to have superior creative talent and to have an interest in literature and language beyond the classroom. They are dedicated to providing cultural and intellectual enlightenment in a community of others who have similar talents and interests.

Sigma Xi Scientific Research Society

At LMU since 1967, Sigma Xi endeavors to encourage support of academic achievement and original work in science and technology and to promote an appreciation within society at large for the role research has played in human progress. Founded at Cornell University in 1886, it is among the oldest such societies in the nation.

Tau Beta Pi Engineering Society

This national engineering honor society was founded at Lehigh University in 1885 to honor students displaying excellence in scholarship and exemplary character as undergraduates in engineering and to foster a spirit of liberal culture in engineering colleges. The LMU chapter was established in 1974.

Theta Alpha Kappa Theology Society

Founded in 1976 at Manhattan College, Theta Alpha Kappa is the only national honor society recognizing excellence of students involved in the study of religion and theology. The society was established at LMU in 1981.